Crush claim President’s Cup Title

May 18, 2015 Comments Off on Crush claim President’s Cup Title
Crush claim President’s Cup Title

The Zionsville Little League Crush Majors Softball team won the Indiana District 8 Little League President’s Cup on Saturday. The Crush, managed by Brian Stewart, defeated the Speedway Buckeyes by a score of 9-7 in the Championship game held at Lions Park on Saturday afternoon. To reach the championship game, the Crush steamrolled through pool play games by outscoring their opponents 59-4 and were awarded the number one seed for their pool. In the tournament semi-finals on Saturday, the Crush downed the Speedway Hawkeyes.

On offense, the Crush were led by Lexi Puckett, Allison Jones, Jenny Pitts, Lily Robinson and Kate Cantrell. Defensively Olivia Dean, Kaitlyn Garrett, Emily Doehring, Angela Graham and Elana Pitts controlled the game and made sure the opposing teams had a difficult time scoring. Annika Stewart went 6-0 as the starting pitcher during the tournament shutting down the opposing team’s offense.

ZLL is extremely proud of these young ladies for representing the league with great effort throughout the tournament. The President’s Cup is a tournament for rec Majors softball teams in Indiana District 8. Twenty-four teams participated in the tournament.

Team Members: Lexi Puckett, Allison Jones, Annika Stewart, Jenny Pitts, Kate Cantrell, Olivia Dean, Kaitlyn Garrett, Lily Robinson, Emily Doehring, Elana Pitts and Angela Graham.
Manager: Brian Stewart
Assistant Coaches: Mike Pitts, Shawn Dean and Todd Jones

Comments are closed.