Shamrocks win Minor Softball Championship

June 25, 2012 No Comments »
Shamrocks win Minor Softball Championship

The Robert Carter Van Lines Shamrocks are Minor Softball Champs 2012 after a grueling two game playoff Championship against the CVS Hoosiers.

In the first Championship play off game, the Hoosiers came out on top with the help of a stellar pitching performance.  The victory forced a second game in the double elimination tournament with both teams then having one loss.

In the final game, the Hoosiers led by 6 runs at the end of 4 innings, but the Shamrock began their comeback.  At the top of the 5th, the Shamrocks battled back with a two out rally.  Victoria Flores hit a home run with two runners on to make the score now 8-5.   Sommer Edwards’ pitching in the bottom of the 5th held the Hoosiers scoreless.

The Shamrock’s bats caught on fire in the top of the 6th inning, scoring seven runs to give them a 12-8 lead.  Sommer Edwards returned to the mound and held the Hoosiers to two runs and sealed the 12-10 victory for the Shamrocks.

Pictured: Emily Doehring, Laura McNary, Carlin Barksdale, Maddie Pirtle, Olivia Dean, Victoria Flores, Heather Darrow, Jocelyn Swan, Alicia Flores, Nicole Lueck, Gwyneth Hartzel, Sommer Edwards

Assistant Coaches, Shaun Dean, Topper Doehring, Matt Swan, Art Flores,

Score Keeper Jen McNary

Head Coaches, Jeanne & Jeff Edwards


Comments are closed.